Skip to main content

This Year's Holly Smith Award Recipients

The 2019 Holly Smith Award winners are:

Claire D. Brindis, DrPH

Claire, Professor & Director, Institute for Health Policy Studies has continuously demonstrated her commitment as an instrumental and driving force who works collaboratively across departments and schools in helping to conceptualize, pursue funding, and establish several major institutional programs that have been sustained over time. Perhaps her most visible impact has been with NAM on the Committee on Preventive Health Services for Women, which developed recommendations for preventive services for women without co-payments as part of health care reform. These recommendations were accepted by the Obama Administration and embedded in the Accountable Care Act resulting in over 80 million women receiving contraceptive coverage without co-payments in 2017. Claire has a great generosity of spirit and genuine commitment to UCSF. Inspired by Holly Smith, she is a testament to the type of visionary leadership and lasting impact this award exemplifies.

David Wofsy, MD

David, Professor of Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology and Associate Dean for Admissions, School of Medicine has exemplified devotion in his roles as a clinician, researcher, leader, and mentor since joining UCSF in 1980. Since then, he has had wide-ranging and critically influential roles at the UCSF VAMC and Parnassus campuses within the Rheumatology Divisions, Departments of Medicine and the School of Medicine. Under David’s leadership and commitment to diversity as the Associate Dean for Admissions, the percentage of under-represented in medicine has risen to be consistently over 30%. Through his advocacy with the Dean and work with the Development Office, he established a sustainable financial support model for all four years of medical school, more than doubling funding and increased the average scholarship award by over 40%. He is a careful listener and disarms one with his genuine and brave openness, ready wit, and self-deprecating manner—consistent with Holly Smith’s approach.

Maxine Davis

Maxine, Division Manager, Division of Geriatrics, Department of Medicine has accelerated the growth and excellence of geriatrics education, research, clinical care, and community outreach. With her 19 years of dedication to the Division of Geriatrics, she has become the go-to person for solving a wide-range of administrative challenges and for developing best practices that are shared with other Division Managers. Maxine has an amazing ability to form relationships across the campuses and actively builds on these connections to learn how to improve and solve challenges for the School of Medicine. Through this process she teaches and elevates others. The Division of Geriatrics would not be in the place it is today without Maxine’s quiet but strong guidance and grace under pressure.

Margaret Damiano, MBA

Margaret, Associate Dean, Administration and Finance at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital has already advanced the organization tremendously in just over a decade. The impact of her work with UCSF legal in getting the MOU with the City to allow Clinical Physician’s Group to use a professional fee billing strategy through the Epic system will extend for years, likely decades ahead. The benefits of these contributions extend directly to the community. Margaret has been instrumental in fostering a trusting, effective relationship with the COO, CFO, and CEO as she oversees the Affiliation agreement on behalf of all UCSF Departments in ZSFG. The ongoing success of this work is the lifeblood of UCSF activities for all clinical and educational programs at ZSFG. Universally people appreciate her respectful approach, open to ideas from all. She listens with active engagement, with interpersonal skills that bring out the best from the most boisterous to the quiet voice in the room.